Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Where's a family to go after Niagara Falls?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 30th, 2008, 07:31 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I hope to take at least 2 of my sons to Niagara Falls this August for our family vacation...I want them to see and experience this awesome part of nature. I have a rm at the Embassy Suites Fallsview on the Canadian Side for 3 nights already reserved. Planned to fly into Buffalo which would give us 2 1/2 days to really enjoy the sights and activities on both sides of the falls. However, I'm struggling w/ what to do for an additional 4 days. Initially, I had thought we would spend it in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and while this is a beautiful place, I don't think my 21 and 17 yo sons would enjoy it. I then thought we would go to Toronto to see some plays, baseball, and enjoy the city life. The Blue Jays don't have a single home game while we would be in town, I haven't had luck w/ the theater schedule, and now I'm questioning being in the "city" during the summer. We could visit Cooperstown and the locks, but I prefer to be based in 1 place rather than drive to different location each day visiting around the area.

I'm envisioning a more relaxing time by a lake while the boys are out canoeing or playing in a pool or hiking...a family resort where we can have some freedom w/ either a dining facility on site or restaurants nearby. We have spent lots on time in nat'l parks the last few years so I'm looking for more of that rustic and fun atmosphere. Plus, if I can make it enticing enough, I hope my 23 yo son will join us for at least a few days of this vacation.