Search

Where to stay in Atlanta

Search this Thread

Old Oct 25th, 2004, 08:11 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Where to stay in Atlanta

Hello All,

This is our first time in Atlanta and we like to know if the downtown is a safe area to book a hotel and stay closer to the main atractions.

Thanks in advance,

Amcho
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 08:44 AM

Hi,
I happen to live in the Atlanta suburbs and visit the downtown area quite frequently (plus I went to school at GSU - right down the street from Underground Atlanta) so I am sure I can help you out.

I am sorry to say, Atlanta tourist attractions are scattered all over the place and our transportation system is not great. I am NOT trying to scare you off! (I just want you to be aware)

Please tell me where you would like to go and what areas you are thinking of staying. If you would like, you could give me your email address and then we can talk in depth. (I am an amateur travel agent by hobby)

By the way, Atlanta is no more dangerous than any other big city - but like any other big city, some parts are better than others.

I look forward to helping you.
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 09:20 AM
Original Poster

Hi,

Thank you so much for answer...

We want to the Atlanta History Center, CNN studios, and World of Coca-Cola. We'll be from friday afternoon until sunday noon.

We don't want to rent a car, so we are thinking to take MARTA and walk.

What do you think?

My email is [email protected], I really appreciate your help...

Amcho
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 10:54 AM

I'd suggest you stay in Buckhead. You can take the train from the airport there and it's a nicer place to be at night. Alternatively, Midtown would be a good bet. Both areas have plenty of hotels at various price points and restaurants...I wouldn't recommend staying downtown though...
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 02:26 PM

AMCHO,