Where to raise a family in Florida?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 21st, 2011, 08:02 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I have weathered many a snowstorm and harsh winters in Maryland, so we are seriously considering moving to Florida. I am a pharmacist , so employment doesn't worry me, it's the crime and schools I have read about. What are property taxes like? Our son is 12, and we want a good school district. I have visited various parts of Florida from March through November, so I know how hot it can get. Suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old Jan 22nd, 2011, 03:28 AM

All of Florida will be hot in the summer.

Parts of Florida will be cold in the winter, though warmer than Maryland has been for the past couple of years. The inland parts of the state are colder than the coasts. From Ft Myers south is generally frost free, places right on the coast north to Sarasota are generally pleasant.

Places where rich people live will generally have better schools than places where poor people live, sadly but truly.

The West Coast is generally less crowded than the East Coast.

Do you see the pattern here? I am suggesting somewhere in Southwest Florida, from Naples to Sarasota. The Sarasota area is not as easy to get to by plane as the Naples-Ft Myers area, which might be good if you don't want friends and family visiting you all the time!
Old Jan 22nd, 2011, 04:04 AM

Received 46 Likes on 17 Posts
Just one thought re your screenname - some Westies do not do well in the heat and humidity of the deep south. If yours have any problems with skin allergies, it would be someting to consider.

If you want warm all the time, you want south Florida. Personally, I'd be bored with no hint of the change of seasons. Northern Florida and the panhandle will still be a lot warmer than Maryland in winter.
Old Jan 22nd, 2011, 07:28 AM
Original Poster

I'm not worried about visitors and Sarasota is mainly retirement, so that's not an option.