Weekend Escape from Washington DC

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 7th, 2004, 06:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am new to the DC area and am looking for a quick, quiet weekend escape preferably not more than 2 hours drive and under $150/night. Any suggestions?
Old Dec 7th, 2004, 09:49 PM

Wow! Ya know, whole books have been written on this subject...

Personally, my favorite quick weekend getaways have been to some of the quiet inns on the Eastern shore of Maryland, or down US 29 to Charlottesville, where there's plenty of historical sites, lots of charm, and an abundance of old B&B type places.

Harpers Ferry might be a good bet for you. So too would be Richmond (I like going in the summer when the AAA-level Richmond Braves are playing at the Diamond).

Baltimore. Gettysburg. Fredericksburg. Roller coasters at Kings Dominion. Camping on Old Rag. Driving the Skyline Drive. Exploring the caverns at Luray. Doing winery tours in Albemarle County. Poking around Civil War battlefields at Manassas or Antietam. Taking a sailing lesson on the Chesapeake.

How many ideas do you want??
;-)

Have fun!
Mark
www.tiogringo.com
Old Dec 8th, 2004, 05:00 AM

All of TioGringo's advice is good. St. Michael's on the Eastern Shore is a nice touristy town on the water. With regards to going west of DC, Skyline Drive is fun- you may even have deer come up to your car- and Monticello is well worth visiting if you've never been.
Old Dec 8th, 2004, 06:37 AM

I'll add Annapolis to the list.

Or, if you like nature - Shenandoah National Park.

Karen
Old Dec 8th, 2004, 09:25 AM
Original Poster