Week Long Trip North-South California- Complete Novice

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 18th, 2012, 08:01 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys so I'm planning a trip for my family: middle aged parents, and two younger brothers (11 and 18). My dad basically asked me to plan a trip in california and I figured it would be cool to see as much as possible. However, having lived on the East Coast my whole life, and venturing only to the west for snowboarding trips, I have very little knowledge of California in the summer/fall. After perusing the forums for a while, I decided there's definitely enough helpful people here to assist in educating me. So here we go.

The trip is going to be 7-9 days, flexible, but starting on August 1st. My family enjoys hiking, nature, sightseeing, etc, not so interested in wineries because of the little brothers. We definitely want to see yosemite or redwood, and aquariums, things like that. Not really sure if it's feasible but we'd like to drive up the coast and see LA too.

I think we would need to get a rental car since we want to drive down the coast, but I was reading alot on the forums about drop-fees etc, so information on the best idea in terms of driving the coast would be appreciated. Actually, information about where we might want to stay, where to fly into/leave, what to see and how long to stay, pretty much anything to help me plan this would be super. Any advice will be a help. Thanks!
Old Jun 18th, 2012, 11:16 AM

That is not a lot of time to see all that you want to see (also you need advance reservations for Yosemite, places book up to a year in advance. You might get lucky and get a cancellation but you would have to keep calling every day). You could do:

3 nights San Francisco (redwoods in several places)
1 night Monterey or Carmel
1 night Cambria or Pismo Beach (did you want to see Hearst Castle?)
Possibly another night in Santa Barbara
2 nights Los Angeles