VWP, proof of funds, 1st trip. HELP!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 23rd, 2004, 06:59 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Okay I'm totally new to this and have been to so many different websites that nothing makes sense anymore!

I'm going on a 30 day trip to the US and am pretty sure I am fine with the VWP (no criminal history, less than 90 days, onward ticket, etc.). But I am worried that maybe I missed something and mightn't get into the country to begin with. I'd be devastated if I went all that way and someone didn't like something about me and sent me home. Yep I live up to my name.

Also someone mentioned to me that I need proof of funds. What do I need for that? I'll have one of those cards that have the visa logo but are connected to my cheque acct. Do I need a bank statement? And how much do they require you to have to show that you can support yourself?

Also will I be fine if I list a friend?s house on that form you fill out on the plane as the place I?ll be staying for the first night? Someone ages ago said that it maybe wasn?t wise to put down a home (I don?t know why though).

Sorry if they're stupid questions (please don?t flame me) but until I have my feet on US soil I'm going to be worrying about this.

I'm going to need this holiday to get over the planning of the holiday...
Old Aug 24th, 2004, 03:45 AM

Here's a website that may be of help to you:
http://travel.state.gov/visa/tempvis..._waiver.html#7

You don't mention which country you are traveling from. The above points out that you must be from a country that participates in the VWP (Visa Waiver Program) and that your passport must be "machine readable". Your questions would be better directed to the U.S. Embassy in your country.

There's no reason to be nervous. If you have fulfilled the few requirements and have nothing to hide you will be fine. Good luck!
Old Aug 24th, 2004, 03:58 AM