Search

Travel Anxiety??

Search this Thread

Old Jan 12th, 2006, 03:29 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Travel Anxiety??

Does anyone else suffer from travel anxiety?? I've been traveling for 20 years and the older I get, the worse it gets, to the point where I'm totally nauseous from the moment I wake up, trip day, to usually the 2nd or 3rd day of my trip. I'm not nervous about anything in particular, just, I guess, not being close to home or something. But I *love* to travel, and this makes traveling very, very uncomfortable, as you could guess. Has anyone experienced this/have any advice?
Old Jan 12th, 2006, 05:10 AM
GoTravel

Sallie, it is very common and there are lots of threads on this topic.

http://www.fodors.com/forums/pgMessa...travel+anxiety

You aren't alone, most of us have boughts of travel anxiety including separation anxiety from our pets and normal routine.

Old Jan 12th, 2006, 05:19 AM
cd

Sallie
I'm sure you are not alone, but that really doesn't help does it? I've been fearful of flying since 9/11. I know it's not rational but that also does not take it away. Soooooo, what I've done is mostly stayed in the States for travel and drive. Totally unrational because my chances of getting in a car accident is greater. However, I FEEL better about it, and enjoy my trip and there are a lot of places in my own country that I have not been to. We also take weekend trips about every 6 weeks which are wonderful!
If I have to fly, well, whether it's morning or not, I have a couple of drinks....which is probably stupid because that will not stop anything from happening, it just insulates me.
Old Jan 12th, 2006, 05:26 AM

Hi Sallie. YES! I make my trip plans and the immediately regret them - until I'm there. But I know it's just an annoying quirk and I've decided that I will not let it alter our travels. It's hard but if you just keep moving forward you'll be glad you did.
Old Jan 12th, 2006, 06:29 AM
Original Poster