Traffic from north Phoenix to Sedona?

Old Aug 2nd, 2008, 05:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Traffic from north Phoenix to Sedona?

How bad is the traffic (normally) on I-17 from Phoenix to Sedona on a week day in August? We'd be heading from the 101 loop area, north of Phoenix (near Desert Ridge). I'm a white-knuckle interstate driver, so bear that in mind! Also, is it an easy enough trip with kids, such as plenty of places to stop along the way (rest rooms, quick bite to eat, etc), or long empty stretches?
Old Aug 2nd, 2008, 06:14 AM

How bad is the traffic (normally) on I-17 from Phoenix to Sedona on a week day in August?

Not bad at all, especially if you start after 9 AM. The rush hour traffic is heading the opposite way (mostly people from Anthem heading south into town ... heading north you're avoiding all that).

Try to avoid coming back from the high country on Sunday afternoon though.

Also, is it an easy enough trip with kids, such as plenty of places to stop along the way (rest rooms, quick bite to eat, etc), or long empty stretches?

There aren't that many places to stop but it's only a 2 hour drive max, probably closer to 90 minutes if you're far enough north of Phx.

Relax ...

Bill
Old Aug 2nd, 2008, 06:27 AM

The I-17 portion of the trip is easy once you are past Anthem, just north of Phoenix. Anthem is a residential community. If you can drive past it after or before commuting hours, you should have no problem.

HOWEVER, Hwy. 179 connecting I-17 with Sedona is just plain awful due to road construction. The Village of Oak Creek, seven miles south of Sedona, is completely messed up and can take as much as one hour to drive. Those seven miles can be bumper to bumper.

Suggestion: leave I-17 at Camp Verde and drive Rte 260 to Cottonwood, and drive Rte 89A from Cottonwood into Sedona. Much faster although not quite as scenic as you near Sedona as 179.