Time needed to drive Blue Ridge Parkway

Aug 1st, 2004, 10:09 AM
Original Poster

Time needed to drive Blue Ridge Parkway

This is my first time to this site, and I have gotten so much great information already! I did have one question of my own, though.

My husband and I are planning a trip to Virginia at the beginning of September. We are staying in Shenandoah NP for two nights, and then we have some extra time (around 2-3 days) to spend elsewhere. One option we are considering is driving the BRP from Shenandoah to the Smokey Mountains park. I've done quite a bit of research already, but I couldn't find any realistic estimates of how long would we need to do this drive. (Assuming we didn't want to drive straight without stopping at all.) Would it not be worth it to try and do it in one day? What would be a reasonable amount of time? If we don't have enough time to appreciate it, we may just spend the rest of our time elsewhere in VA.

Also, as a side question, what is the mosquito situation like in VA or TN in the first week of September?

Thank you!
Aug 1st, 2004, 10:35 AM

The speed limit is 45 MPH. It is very lovely, curvy, nice views--but that is a LONG way at 45. I guess you are trying to get TO Tennessee--you are not very clear about that. Drive it for a while, get off and get back on--if your goal is to get to Tennessee.
Aug 1st, 2004, 10:40 AM
Original Poster

I guess that yes, Tennessee is our ultimate destination as we'd like to explore the Smokey Mountains, but we would like to see some of the Parkway as well. We just don't know if it's worth it to try and rush between the two places in two days if we're going to miss too much.
Aug 1st, 2004, 11:02 AM
maj

We took the Blue Ridge Parkway from Cherokee to Asheville a couple of years ago, stopping at most of the viewpoints and taking a couple of short hikes, and it took us the whole day. We had planned on the whole day though and took our time. Gretchen's idea sounds pretty good to me.