Subway as sightseeing vehicle

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 12th, 2001, 09:22 PM
Callie

Hi,

I'm a first time vistor to New York. I'll be staying at the Crowne Plaza Manhattan which has 2 subway stops nearby: N/R @ 49th Street and 1/9 at 50th Street.

I'm traveling by myself and want to see the usual sights: Statue of Liberty, Empire State, The Met Museum, The Guggenheim, etc. Is it reasonable for me to think I could see these sights using the subway instead of a "hop on hop off" tour bus?

How hard/easy is the subway system to navigate. I visted DC last year and got great advice here re: the Metro. In DC I got to all the sights using the Metro. Can I expect the same in NYC?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank You.
Callie

Old Jun 13th, 2001, 08:27 AM
Barbara

I am not a subway expert by any means, but we always use the subway in NYC. We simply tell the Concierge in our hotel where we want to go and he always tells us exactly which routes to take and how to get back. I'm sure the Concierge, bellboy, or desk clerk in your hotel will do the same. I admit we don't do a lot of improvising, but from time to time we have had to and have always found New Yorkers very friendly and willing to help us out.

Old Jun 13th, 2001, 08:35 AM
cheri

I recommend the subway rather than tour bus. If you study the maps and lines it is very easy. Get the map first then ask the concierge to help you. It will be much quicker, less expensive and more flexible. One caveat, be prepared for a diverse and interesting crowd. You'll probably see some crazy folk on the subway but they are usually harmless! My husband rides it from Grand Central to downtown every day and usually describes an interesting character at least a couple of times a week!

Old Jun 13th, 2001, 05:04 PM
KR

Callie: