Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Students Traveling to CA for the 1st time...

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 13th, 2008, 10:26 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a student flying into Oakland for 2 nights at the end of February. I plan to visit St. Helena (for school) and San Fran (for fun). I will have a rental car. I want to try to spend around 50 dollars on my hotel room, which I think I can manage on 'priceline.' However, I am not sure which areas, either Oakland or San Fran are good for someone in my situation. Any suggestions??

Thanks!!
Old Jan 13th, 2008, 11:04 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
You absolutely do not want to priceline a hotel in Oakland. And even using PL, a San Francisco hotel will be more than $50. You'd have to count on at least $65 or $70 plus the high SF hotel taxes - plus VERY high parking fees.

You can PL a very nice hotel at SFO for around $50 or less + tax, and usually + parking. But then you'd be outside of the city and have to take BART into SF.
Old Jan 13th, 2008, 11:15 AM

I recently reserved a 4* hotel room in SF - Union Square West - for next month for $70/night. With the taxes and fees, it is about $85, not including parking. You might do better with the 2.5 or 3* level. Parking will sink your budget though, so you might consider turning in the rental car early.
Old Jan 13th, 2008, 11:20 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Ditto the warning about Oakland. Ditto the suggestion of getting rid of the car for your time in SF proper.
Old Jan 13th, 2008, 11:26 AM

Check Hostelling Int'l--there is a hostel in SF.
Old Jan 13th, 2008, 11:30 AM

but the hostels don't have parking.

metzboms: Please clarify - is your whole trip only 2 nights and you want to use SF/Oakland as a base to visit St Helena - or do you have 2 nights in SF plus time up north in St Helena.