Solo Hiking around Palm Springs

May 6th, 2011, 07:47 PM
Original Poster

Solo Hiking around Palm Springs

Last year I hiked a bit of Indian Canyons by myself (I'm a middle aged female). On our upcoming trip I'd like to do more of that and perhaps some of the trails on Mt. San Jacinto, taking the tram to the top. Is it adviseable to do this solo? I don't plan to go far. My spouse is not able to hike.
May 7th, 2011, 04:09 AM

I don't think it is good hike solo. Just check if there are groups who conduct group hiking. It is better to go with a group that alone. Advantage is that you can interact with more people and learn more things..
May 7th, 2011, 04:45 AM
Original Poster

I have tried to check into group hikes, but they are pretty expensive. I'm not opposed to it, just have to find the right one I guess. I don't necessarily like the idea of a group cause I'm not looking to interact with people, rather with the beauty of my surroundings. I'm a photographer and desire the freedom of taking my time to set up shots.
May 7th, 2011, 05:49 AM

As a geocacher, I often hike alone. It is always more enjoyable and safer to hike with someone else. Buying a GPSr or using your smart phone with a tracking app and learning how not to get lost is a good idea.
Some of my best friends are geocachers. There are groups of geocachers that go on monthly hikes.
May 7th, 2011, 06:09 AM
Original Poster

Thanks Tom,I'm assuming the trails are well marked on Mt. San Jacinto, at least close to the lodge. I'm not planning to go very far. Don't have a smart phone, just a normal mobile phone, but I wonder if my Verizon service will work up there?
May 8th, 2011, 09:22 AM

Maggi,