SHOULD I STAY OR SHOULD I GO?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 17th, 2005, 02:30 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

AFTER 3 STRAIGHT YEARS OF GOING TO THE CANADIAN ROCKIES IN THE FALL. HAVING BEAUTIFUL WEATHER AND TONS OF PHOTO OPPORTUNITIES AND WILDLIFE. I HAD THOUGHT OF GOING TO WASH/OREGON INSTEAD THIS YEAR. STILL WONDERING IF THIS IS A GOOD CHOICE OR SHOULD I HEAD BACK TO A ROCKY MT FALL!! I AM A PHOTOGRAPHER LOOKING FOR WATERFALLS AND GREAT SCENERY/WILDLIFE. ANY INSIGHT. IT WOULD COST MORE AT THE MOMENT TO GO TO BC AND ALBERTA ,WITH GAS PRICES AND ALL. BUT I KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT THERE. WEATHERWISE ETC.(NORMALLY) I WAS THINKING IF I WENT TO WASH/OREGON. I WOULD HIT MT RANIER/ST HELENS AND THE NORTH CASCADES . THEN VENTURE TO ANY WATERFALLS I COULD FIND. MAYBE EVEN HIT THE OCEAN AND NORTHERN CAL. HAVING 2 WEEKS AND DOING THE SOLO CAMPING THING ,SINCE MY USUAL TRAVEL PARTNER CANT JOIN ME THIS TIME ,DUE TO HER HAVING TO STAY HOME.... ANY SUGGESTIONS.. THANKS FOR THE INFO.. KEN IN MICHIGAN

WWW.PICTURETRAIL.COM/KENREECE
Old Aug 17th, 2005, 03:43 AM

boy do you have a delema. canadian rockies is one of the best places on the planet! BUT it's good to experience new things. i think the oregon wash trip is a good idea. i did it one year, if you can fit: mt. ranier, north cascade, olympic, crater lake (waterfalls there) lassen vol.(northern cal) the coast, rogue river country, lake chelan wash. there is SOO much to see. i was in ore/wash in sept. and had great weather. head over to san juan islands, do a whale watch for killer whales etc. i could go on and on.
Old Aug 17th, 2005, 04:00 AM

The Washington/Oregon area is a goldmine of photo ops. Suggestions in addition to those already given:
For waterfalls, try the Columbia River Gorge Byway and Silver Falls State Park in Oregon.
For spectacular coastlines, you can't beat Oregon.
Then, there's Olympic National Park in Washington--Ho Rainforest, Hurricane Ridge, etc.
Old Aug 17th, 2005, 07:34 AM