Savor Seattle Food Tour of Pike Place Market

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 3rd, 2007, 08:08 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to Seattle and am going to entertain myself for a while by trying to do something "touristy" each weekend...for a while anyways.

Today's adventure was the Savor Seattle food tour, which is a history and sampling tour of Pike Place Market. It lasts 2 hours long, costs $39, and is a great way to get your bearing around the Market (which is a little overwhelming the first time you see it).

The tour starts at Seattle Coffee Works where you meet the group, try on your headphones (so you can hear the guide during the tour), and start sampling. We had 2 different kinds of coffee, my favorite being a peaberry. We also had cinnamon donuts from Daily Dozen Doughnuts which were fantastic...but cold. It's best to eat these hot, so get yourself to 93 Pike St #7 to get them fresh. The donuts bob right from the oil on to your plate - doesn't get much better than that.

Next stop was Market Spice...very cool store. It's been in the market since 1911 and has a mammoth supply of spices, teas, and coffees. We sampled sweet and savory "healthy hear" (spice blend) cream cheese spreads over crackers, as well as the Market Spice iced tea. I don't like tea, but the iced tea was delicious...and doesn't have any sugar added. Highly recommend it.

Next up? Pike Place Fish. We tried 3 different types of salmon (smoked, smoked with pepper and garlic, and jerky), and heard the history of the fish market and its owner. We saw fish hurled, children tricked, and we shouted. Sadly, the fish throwers were spot on this morning...my favorite moments are when they miss and people get slapped with real fish. I've only seen this happen once, but it still makes me smile.