Santa Fe in 2 days help

Search

Santa Fe in 2 days help

Search this Thread

Old May 17th, 2006, 11:48 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Santa Fe in 2 days help

I am a teacher attending a conference in Abiqui, New Mexico from July 5-16th. At the conference I will not have a car as a bus is transporting us from the airport. I have never been to New Mexico and thought about flying down on July 2nd renting a car for three days and driving to Santa Fe for July2-4 before my conference. I will be traveling alone for those few days before the conference and wanted to know where you all thought I should concentrate in. I thought about the Ghost Ranch which I am hearing about. Any other possible areas? What should I pay attention to in the city? Help! Thanks
Old May 17th, 2006, 12:19 PM

Hi,

Where in Abiquiu will your conference be held? At Ghost Ranch? If so, I might stay there. There's lots of good hiking trails around there.

There's also the Abiquiu Inn, which is nice and has a decent restaurant.

Another place is http://www.vrbo.com/81865
- this is a casita owned by someone with another rental place in Santa Fe. (click on other properties) I've never stayed at the place in Abiquiu, but I visited the property and views cannot be beat.

I'd definitely recommend renting a car too - there are so many places around Abiquiu worth driving to - Ghost Ranch, Georgia O'Keeffe's house (arrange for a tour with the museum in Santa Fe), Echo Ampitheatre, the Christ in the Desert Monastery and more. I assume you'll have evenings free during the conference?

Staying in Santa Fe a couple of days beforehand would be a great idea. However, if you can't fly out there early, Santa Fe is a beautiful 45-min. drive from Abiquiu and you can always zip over there in your free time. Gabriel's on 84/285 on the way is an excellent restaurant too.

Enjoy your trip!
Heidi
Old May 18th, 2006, 10:07 AM
Original Poster