Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Ritz Carlton San Francisco , is it worth it ?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 3rd, 2000, 04:17 AM
Jasmine

I am planning to book 4 days for my parents who are travelling from Hong Kong to San Fransico in August. They are in their 60's and can speak English very well. However , I am worried about the safety of them travelling on their own. Ritz Calrton is quite expensive, is it a very nice hotel to stay ? Is it worth it to pay extra for the special Carlton club floors ? What is the best way to book for better discounts if possible. I am a working student but I want them to have a great time. If not the Ritz, any very nice boutique hotels u can recoomend in case Ritz is full? Thanks

Old Aug 3rd, 2000, 05:40 AM
Paul

I have stayed at numerouse Ritz Carltons including San Francisco. They are all first class hotels and, for me, well worth the expense. The Club Floors make the stay all the more special as you have a private (floor) concierge and food/drink all day long including evening cordials. The San Francisco hotel is one of the best ones I visited.

Old Aug 3rd, 2000, 07:10 AM
Greg

We stayed at the SF Ritz-Carlton for our 10th wedding anniversary in October. I'm not exactly sorry that we stayed there -- after all it was a splurge trip (1st class air, convertible rental car) -- and how would we know what it was like if we didn't stay there.

But we would never stay there again. For the price, the service was disappointing, the room wasn't ready when promised, the room was smaller than we had been led to believe. And we ran into too much attitude from some of the staff.

Besides there are so many great small hotels in SF that are reasonably priced.

Old Aug 3rd, 2000, 08:10 AM
kam