Re-worked itinerary, how does this sound?

Old Feb 16th, 2010, 07:36 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re-worked itinerary, how does this sound?

I've been reworking our itinerary for July 2011 and wanted some thoughts on how this sounds. Thanks again to all the previous suggestions. Here it goes:
Day 1 - Fly into Anchorage, drive to Talkeetna
Day 2 - Denali flightsee/glacier landing, hang out at Talkeetna, views of the mountain, visit the state park
Day 3 - Flightsee in AM if weather didn't allow the day before, drive about three hours on Glenn Highway, stops along the way, to ???, stay overnight
Day 4 - Drive to Valdez, stops along the way as suggested
Day 5 - Valdez in the AM, fast ferry back to Whittier, (yes, it''s a Wednesday when the fast ferry runs) stay overnight in Girdwood
Day 6 - drive to Homer, see the Seward highway sights, Mt Alyeska tram
Day 7 - Brooks Falls day trip, overnight Homer
Day 8 - drive to Seward, see Exit Glacier(if weather doesn't allow Brooks Falls yesterday, can try to do on this day)
Day 9 - Seward, Kenai Fjords 6 hour tour, overnight in Cooper Landing
Day 10 - guided fishing in on Kenai river
Day 11 - Hubby has more guided fishing, I take Kenai Canyon rafting trip
Day 12 - Prince William Sound 26 glacier tour, overnight in Anchorage
Day 13,- free day to try a flightsee or Brooks Falls trip(from Anchorage) if washed out on planned days, otherwise, relaxation day, hike trails around Anchorage.
Day 14 - fly home from Anchorage
Questions: Does this sound too busy? We want to see everything but don't want to feel like we are running from place to place with no down time.
Is there enough "cushion" time built in for rescheduling the very important things like the Denali flightsee and Brooks Falls if the weather is too bad to fly on the planned day?