Reload this Page >

Private Ski Lessons: Worth the Big $$$?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 12th, 2001, 02:59 PM
Beginner

Has anyone ever taken private ski lessons at any ski resort? Just curious as to whether you learned that much faster or felt you were gouged. How long did it take you to learn to ski? Am considering it, but boy is the price steep! Thx

Old Dec 12th, 2001, 04:15 PM
Grasshopper

If you're an adult and you've never skiied and you don't want to end up with a group of 6 year olds you might consider it!

That aside, you'll learn more quickly with a private lesson.

Old Dec 13th, 2001, 05:16 AM
cg

As a former ski instructor, I would recommend the private lessons if you are nervous about skiing and would like one-on-one attention. You will be up and skiing (and enjoying yourself) on the first day if you are not of way-below-average coordination and physical fitness.

If you are fairly independent and pick up on physical things quickly, you'll probably be fine with a group lesson where the instructor will demonstrate to the group and then work with you as needed. With a private lesson, the instructor will be able to give you more hands-on attention (i.e. holding your ski tips in the proper position as you snowplow, etc.). This will help you enjoy your experience much more if you are scared or it takes you a bit longer to pick up on physical things. If you spring for a private lesson, make sure the ski-school and instructor are PSIA certified, meaning they are a professional.

Skiing is a great sport - I loved teaching because after an hour, most people were up and going the rest of the day and having a great time! Best of luck with your endeavor.

Old Dec 13th, 2001, 06:11 AM
Skier