Search

Price Line Expert Needed!

Search this Thread

Old Aug 29th, 2003, 10:49 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Price Line Expert Needed!

I have been to Bidding For Travel and
didn't find the information I needed regarding Priceline, so I am asking fellow Fodorites for advice....
I have previously sucessfully bid on the Hilton Waikaloa on the B.I. Now, my friend is trying at the same hotel in January, for only 2 nights, during the week, at the price that most people pay per night at the Hilton. It is getting rejected. I wondered if January is too busy of a time, and they aren't letting rooms go on Priceline? Any thoughts or experts out there?
Thanks!!
Old Aug 29th, 2003, 10:54 AM

I don't know specifically about when they release rooms but January is the high season in Hawaii. We booked our rooms in Kauai two months ago for January 2004!!
Old Aug 29th, 2003, 11:01 AM

I'm no expert, but possibilities are:
1. they haven't released Jan rooms yet (has anyone else posted a winning bid for Jan there on biddingfortravel?)

2. the problem is just 2 days-maybe they'd rather fill the room for a week

3. 2 days would be ok but not in the middle of the week.

I'd examine what other people have gotten at that time (if anything) & for how many days & when in the week.
Old Aug 29th, 2003, 11:28 AM

I am a little concerned about your friend trying to get "the same hotel" - I hope your friend realizes that there is no guarantee one will get the hotel they want. Biddingfortravel lists are representations of past successful bids that have been reported to BFT - there could be others not on the list. People can play games with zones/star ratings and improve their chances of getting specific hotel, but still no guarantee.
Old Aug 29th, 2003, 12:56 PM

It's probably too early to be bidding, since Priceline rooms are usually leftovers. As gail mentioned, you cannot know in advance which hotel you will win.
Old Aug 29th, 2003, 01:52 PM