Pittsburgh - drive from DC

Old Jul 16th, 2003, 02:02 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pittsburgh - drive from DC

I'm a tourist looking forward to visiting friends in Pittsburgh in a couple weeks.

I'm planning to rent a car & drive from DC to Pittsburgh on a Friday morning & return to DC on Monday morning.

Advice on how to get to Pittsburgh & how long it will take to get there?

Should I just take the turnpike? I'm a rookie...does turnpike mean tollway/expressway?
Thank you!
Old Jul 16th, 2003, 02:07 PM

No to be curt, but , do a map search on either mapquest or yahoo.com maps..and it tells you exactly which highways and gives you exact travelling times..

also AAA lets you do your own triptics on line...

This is just a heads up...
Old Jul 16th, 2003, 03:56 PM

Might I suggest looking into Amtrak. It would be more relaxing trip and you wouldn't have to navigate the construction project that masquerades as the Pennsylvania road system.

http://pittsburgh.about.com/cs/roadconstruction/
Old Jul 16th, 2003, 06:48 PM

The trip to Pittsburgh will take you about 4 hours or so.

I have driven there twice from the DC suburbs, but don't remember the exact route. I do know we took the Pennsylvania Turnpike which we picked up in Breezewood, PA (disgusting). The turnpike, by the way, is a toll road.
Old Jul 16th, 2003, 07:13 PM

I do that at least once a year. I think it takes me a little longer than 4 hours, though, more like 5. I thought it was about 300 miles.

Anyway, I have tried both the Pa turnpike route but much much prefer going across West Virginia. The road is a lot better, and more scenic, and less traffic. Also, they have a higher speed limit in W Va.