Reload this Page >

Photographing Glacier

Search

Photographing Glacier

Search this Thread

Old Jun 17th, 2002, 09:07 PM
Mike

Photographing Glacier

I'm taking my family to Glacier for vaction. I want to photgraph it while there. Any suggestions? Any to avoid or must see.

Old Jun 18th, 2002, 03:30 AM
Dickj

Two suggestions.

1. Use a polarizing filter

2 Use a tripod

I'm only an amateur..any suggestions from a professional photographer?

Old Jun 18th, 2002, 03:38 AM
Bob Brown

What will the tripod do for one's pictures? They are sort of heavy to lug up the trail. I have a small one and was debating about trying to pack it in my suitcase for the flight out.

With as much snow as will be in most of the scenes early this season, light availability will be high, and the shutter speed - aperture ratios should be fine. At shutter speeds above 125th of a second, camera shake is greatly minimized even with a 80 - 200mm lens.

Anybody see an estimate on the opening date for the Sun Road? The last I heard avalanche danger was high and the "Big Drift" had not yet been reached by the snow plows. Piles of snow 20 feet deep were a problem with late snows causing replowing of already cleared stretches.

Old Jun 18th, 2002, 04:13 AM
Dick

Bob,

I probably should have clarified the "need" for a tripod.

A lot depends on what you are going to do with the photo. If yo are just going to put small pic in an album, the tripod won't be of much benefit.

If you want to blow up the pic and frame it a tripod will:

1. Eliminate any movement in the camera (using a shutter release).

2.More importantly, a tripod will allow you to frame the photo before actually taking the picture. That will allow you the opprotunity to take the "perfect" pic( exact vertical/horisontal alignment, eliminate any distractions in the photo, etc)

Old Jun 18th, 2002, 04:15 AM
Dick