Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Phoenix-Tucson-Sedona: In July?? Yes, we did...

Old Jul 30th, 2009, 05:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This trip all came about because of a decision I made several years ago to return to college to finally finish my degree. Yes, I’m one of those so-called “mid-career professionals” who are drawn the University of Phoenix. For the past 2-1/2 years I’ve been a full-time student and working more than full time. I became determined to walk in the graduation at Phoenix. No, I didn’t stop to think that would likely be in the middle of summer. Tickets to Arizona came as a gift from our friends Bob and Lisa, who put up with all bitching and complaining for the past couple of years, and they joined us on the trip. So, off to Phoenix we went, the 4 of us.
Old Jul 30th, 2009, 05:08 PM
Original Poster

Thursday, July 16

We caught an early morning flight from Orlando to Phoenix and headed first for Tucson. I had used Priceline to win rooms at the Loews Ventana Canyon Resort ($55/night) – what a beautiful resort!

On the way we stopped at Casa Grande, watched the video and toured the grounds – well, as much as we could; it was getting pretty darned hot. Still, well worth the stop. From there, we continued on to the Saguaro National Park (West). By then it was beyond hot, so we didn’t trek through the cacti but went on to the Visitors Center. From there, the views were awesome, there was shade, and one could duck into the gift shop to cool down. Which means that we (of course) bought a load of souvenirs. And watched the video – it is really pretty good, and at the end the screen comes up and the blinds open onto a stunning vista of the park.