Outer Banks

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 07:09 AM
MarkBinPA

Outer Banks

Ok, I am new to this froum and to the Outer Banks. I have taken the last five vacation at Myrtle Beach and woudl be happy to answer any questions I can abotu MB.

But, here is my dilemma. We wanta more remote, quiter vacation than MB and have pretty much decided next year to go to the Outer Banks. I have a 13 year old and a 4 year old. Which opart of the Outer Banks, as far as Duck, Kitty Hawk, Hatteras, etc...woudl you recommend?

Also, what about kids? Is there much to do for them?

I appreciate your responses.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 08:45 AM
slkj

If you are trying to avoid Nags Head/Kitty Hawk congestion, there's most to do in or near Duck.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 09:35 AM
carolyn

I've never been to Myrtle Beach, so I can't offer any comparison, but for a remote location in the Outer Banks, head south to Hatteras. Duck might have lots to do, but it is hardly remote and congestion free.

Hatteras has a small town w/ restaurants and shops, and you can hop the ferry over to Ocracoke for a fun day trip.

The isn't a boardwalk or any condensed area with activities for kids, it's mainly rental houses. There are loads of miniature golf courses in the Nags Head/Kitty Hawk area. We went for years with my nephew and a daughter of a friend, and they were never bored, we would take board games and cards to play in the evening.

Manteo has a nice aquarium and historic ship that would be good for kids. There is the Wright Brothers Monument in Kill Devil Hills, and lots of Lighthouses to visit.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 09:49 AM
Lori