October in Bar Harbor

Search

October in Bar Harbor

Search this Thread

Old Aug 19th, 2004, 04:30 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
October in Bar Harbor

Hello all! I'm staying in the Bar Harbor area Oct. 16-23 this year. It is my first time to Maine (yay!) and I can't wait! It seems the more I read, the more I find out that Bar Harbor kind of "shuts down" in the winter. Kind of like the Jersey Shores in my area... anyway, Am I getting dangerously close that time of year to not having anything open, or to enjoy? I know Acada NP is still open which is a very good thing, but I wanted to spend a few days/evenings in Bar Harbor shopping and eating and what not. Is there going to be enough open to keep me busy?? Gosh I hope so!
Old Aug 19th, 2004, 10:20 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
That first weekend should be quite busy actually....your second weekend is probably the last weekend that everything will be going full-swing and you might hit some good end-of-season sales. Plenty of restaurants to keep you well-fed.
Old Aug 19th, 2004, 10:35 AM
jasper

it'll be great! stores will have 75% off seasonal stuff! i was there the same time, and it is still warm and stuff. it will be the last of the weekends the business' are open, and not too crowded. go to miguel's for the best mexican food, and jordans for breakfast! enjoy.

Old Aug 20th, 2004, 05:13 AM
Original Poster

Thank you for the reply's!!! yaaay! 75% off, sweet music to my ears!!!! Now, an important one... will lobster still be readily available!! Holy crap I can't wait to eat me some lobster at deep discounted prices, lol.

Man oh man, I simply cannot wait to go! I am looking for some relaxation! I spend all day looking for trip reports and user review of places, just so I can enjoy Bar Harbor before I even get there!
Old Aug 20th, 2004, 05:41 AM
jasper