NYC on a budget

Old Feb 14th, 2006, 09:49 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NYC on a budget

I am a college student who is going to NYC for spring break. I will be on an extreme budget. How much do you think I would spend on an average trip to NYC (subway and bus fare, eating, any extra costs, etc.) ? This should not include travel to and from NYC or hotels. My friends that I will be travelling with do not have to worry about money as much as I do and it would make me feel more comfortable to know what to expect. Thank you!
Old Feb 15th, 2006, 03:14 AM

For bus, subway etc., you can buy a 7 day pass for $24 that will give you unlimited riding for that period.

Eating can be really inexpensive. Ethnic food (Chinese, Thai, Indian, pizza) are good options. Most coffee shops and diners are reasonably priced. Your biggest expense will be accomodation. Here's a guide on budget tips. Make sure to bring some student ID with you. Many of the museums and tourist venues have reduced prices for students.

nymetro.com/cheap

Here are things that are free

http://gonyc.about.com/od/freestuff/
Old Feb 15th, 2006, 06:45 AM

Meals also don't have to be expensive. Stroll around the E. Village, there are many inexpensive places. For breakfast, you could go to most delis (which are all over) and get a bagel and coffee for < $3. For lunch, you can get a slice of pizza or go to grey papaya or one of the better fast food burger places and eat lunch for around $4-8. Dinner, if really on a budget, you can eat similar to lunch. But there are restaurants with early birds that are quite reasonable. Also many Chinese places are cheap, you can have Indian on E. 6th st for about $10, and there's inexpensive Italian and other ethnic food as well. ANother option is the food bars at WHole Foods (union sq or time warner bldg), there's a huge variety and their prepared foods are quite good.