Search

Nyack, NY

Search this Thread

Old May 28th, 2009, 02:39 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Nyack, NY

I am a photographer shooting a wedding in Nyack in August and we will have one day to explore the area (with a car). We are willing to drive if there are some places that would be interesting. We are both in our 20's and obviously love beautiful places to photograph, but are mostly looking for some tips on things to do and see in the area. Thanks!
Old May 28th, 2009, 03:29 PM
J62

Nyack is in the lower Hudson Valley. From there by car you can easily explore lots of point nearby and north. I'm assuming you don't plan to go into NYC, which is actually quite easy from where you will be.

a) art - try Storm King Art center (outdoor sculpture "garden" where garden is a 1000 acre setting), or Dia Beacon (large scale modern art)

b) History: Historic mansions, including Rockefeller Estate just across the river, FDR and Vanderbilt Mansions in Hyde Park - about 60min north of Nyack., or West Point

c) Nature - Kayaking in Cold Spring, Hiking in Bear Mountain Park (very close to Nyack), (or lots of other hiking options)

d) Sports: baseball game at the new Yankee Stadium

lots of other options, depending on your intest. If any of these sound like what you're looking for let us know.
Old May 28th, 2009, 04:00 PM

J62 has given you a good start on a list. I'd put Storm King at the top of the list. It's a photographer's paradise. Dia: Beacon is great, but, the taking pictures is not allowed. (As a photograper, that rule pains me especially since the art there cries out for a camera!) The gardens at Kykuit (the Rockefeller estate) are marvelous, but again, be forewarned that the taking of pictures in the mansion is not allowed. However, the gardens alone are enough to warrant a major photo opportunity.
Old May 28th, 2009, 04:11 PM