Search

New England

Search this Thread

Old Aug 27th, 2003, 03:51 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New England

Hello,My husband and I are arriving in Boston on Oct 7 and proceeding to his birthplace of Lawrence/Pelham, has not seen it in 40 years.We will spend 2 or 3 days in that area, then the rest of the time, we would love to get your advice as to the best time plan to see as much of New England as possible, departure from Boston on Oct 18,late afternoon.
Old Aug 27th, 2003, 03:58 PM

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Jacsing, I was born in Lawrence. Yikes, not much to see there. My old neighborhood was torn down, No one I know lives there anymore. If I can be of any help. I lived in Boston since a teen and now across the bridge in Cambridge. Any questions reach me at hotmail.com
Old Aug 27th, 2003, 04:03 PM

If your husband has not seen Lawrence in 40 years he is in for a shock. I work as a home care nurse in Lawrence and surrounding areas, and see many people who were born and raised in Lawrence. (I am not originally from New England). They speak sadly of how Lawrence used to be a nice place to live, work, raise a family - and many areas are now over-run with poverty and often-associated problems - drugs, crime, etc. It must be distressing to these people to see their city deteriorate (the latest "scandal" is that the Lawrence school superintendent has been unable to pass the state-required English fluency exam).

I know that did not answer your question, but I thought it might be useful info. As far as what to see, as mentioned in a near-by post, this is a very booked-up time of year with people wanting to see foliage, so make reservations yesterday. It would be useful to know if you prefer to, after Boston, spend a few nights in one or 2 places, or want to travel and see as much as possible - with more driving and staying in a different hotel every night.
Old Aug 27th, 2003, 04:21 PM
Original Poster