Need Pittsburgh Hotel and Driving Info, Please

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 13th, 2004, 12:47 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My son will be a freshman at UPitt and I will be bringing him there in 2 weeks. Silly me--since this is my first time sending a child to college, I didn't realize you need to book hotels close to the college about a year in advance for busy dates like move-in day or Parents' Weekend. I also didn't think about quite how expensive hotels will be! Since I have 4 or 5 years of Pittsburgh college visits ahead, I'd be most grateful if anyone could suggest reasonably-priced or budget hotels with convenient access to UPitt. In desperation, I have held a reservation at Ramada Plaza Suites so at least I have somewhere booked. We will have a car, so parking is something of a consideration. I also don't mind staying outside of Pittsburgh itself if it's an area where it's easy to commute to the university. Also, I have heard rumors about major road construction outside of Pittsburgh. We'll be coming from Philadelphia. Will we need to find alternative routes? Thanks!!!
Old Aug 13th, 2004, 04:09 PM

I work in the Univ area in one of the hospitals. I see daily a Best Western at the Boulevard of the Allies, there is a Holiday Inn on Lytton Avenue. There is also a Wyndham on the corner of Forbes and a side street (can't think of the name of it now). All within easy reach of the campus. Oakland's zip code is: 15213 if you want to do a search. Hotels in the Univ are hard to find. You might want to explore the Shadyside area (about 1 mile away from the campus area), there may be apartments available that you can rent out daily or weekly.
Old Aug 13th, 2004, 07:08 PM