Reload this Page >

Moving to Chicago...Apartments!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 25th, 2001, 09:41 AM
BelledeJour

Hi, I will be attending Film School in Chicago and am looking to move (I'm in Charlotte, NC right now) in early September. I'm not too familiar with the different neighborhoods and areas of Chicago, but from what I've read (including posts on this board), Lakeview, Wicker Park, and Lincoln Park all sound like areas I would like. I'm VERY involved with the arts--film, music, visual art and poetry...would love to live in an area that is diverse and offers a lot in these fields. Also, living in a reasonably safe area is VERY important! As a student, I won't be able to afford too high of rent. I need a studio apartment, probably between $400 and $600 a month...though I'll probably just be scraping by with rent THAT low! Also, I will need good access to public transportation (I will not have a car). I really appreciate any input, ie which areas to AVOID and which areas to seek out. Thanks!
Belle

Old Jul 25th, 2001, 10:06 AM
Dan

Lakeview, Wicker Park, and Lincoln Park? Well you have excellent taste.
Expensive too however. I would, and have, lived in Lincoln Park. I suppose you might get lucky and find a small studio for $600. But it will be real small. Lincoln Park is the safest bet for most because it has been an established wealthy neighborhood for years. It's as safe as it gets in Chicago. Wicker Park is up and coming, but still has a few seedy people walking around. Not bad though. Funky artists seem to like it so maybe you will. Lakeview is a mixed bag. Wealthy people and runaways on the street. I WOULD live here however, but I'd try really hard to get into Lincoln Park if possible.

I would not move north of the Addison el-stop. Many people are because of the lower rents, but I consider much of that area dangerous. My humble opinion.

Let me just clarify that my opinion is that of a middle age suburban guy who now lives in the suburbs.