Search

Mom's birthday in Manhattan: need to keep it cheap

Search this Thread

Old Apr 13th, 2006, 11:25 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mom's birthday in Manhattan: need to keep it cheap

Hello all,

I have some knowledge of Manhattan since I've visited many times. However, I usually stay with friends, and now I'm planning a whole trip for family. There are 6 adults and 2 children going for the weekend to celebrate my mother's birthday. The less we spend on hotels, the more fun stuff we can do. I've read through a number of posts here and have contacted www.apartments2book.com, and it looks like we can rent an apartment for all of us for about $600 for the weekend. Any other ideas? Any reviews of these apartments?

I'm also looking for information on how to book tickets to a broadway show ahead of time without spending a fortune. I looked into TV taping tickets, but it seems like those are mostly lotteries that are done way ahead of time. My mother would love to see Emeril or something like that.

Other ideas? I want to make this a spectacular weekend for her, since she's turning 60. However, my brothers and I don't have a ton of extra money to spend so I'm looking for ways to do things on the cheap. The trip is in July, FYI.

thanks,
Fiasco
Old Apr 13th, 2006, 11:38 AM

If you book a show that is still in pre-views, you can sometimes get half-price tickets through Playbill.com. That's the best way to get cheaper advance tickets for Broadway. Note that there will be substantial booking fees (at least $6 a ticket usually) and that a "good price" for a Broadway show is still $65 these days, which is about 40% off. Plays are cheaper; The Lieutenant of Innishmore is being offered for about $36 right now, and it's very well received, though not really appropriate in subject matter for a mother's birthday party, especially with kids.
Old Apr 13th, 2006, 11:42 AM

Which apartment are they offering you? I have a "cheat sheet" for some of them as follows