Search

Minnesota trip

Search this Thread

Old May 7th, 2003, 12:31 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Minnesota trip

My husband and I are considering a trip to Minnesota the 1st week of June. We have never been and have no idea where to stay or what to do there. We are looking for some quiet time near the water w/ some outdoor activities, but not necessarily too far from the city. Any suggestions would do.
Old May 7th, 2003, 02:45 PM

We visited Minnesota a few years ago and fell in love with the area north of Duluth.

Hwy 61 is a beautiful drive. Bluffs with scenic overlooks, lighthouses, waterfalls and places to hike. I wish we had more time to spend in the area. We were in our motorhome and were camping in late May and had beautiful weather.

Utahtea
Old May 7th, 2003, 03:55 PM
E

I'm really not an expert on this area, but I have heard that the area Utahtea describes is just gorgeous, so if it were me, I would plan to spend, say 3-4 days in and around the Twin Cities, taking in museums, restaurants, etc., and perhaps another 3-4 days driving north and along the shore of Lake Superior. There are lots of famously charming small towns all around the state, too, so you could cut the city time shorter to do some day trips. Wish I could be more helpful!
Old May 7th, 2003, 04:44 PM

Red Wing MN is a very nice sleepy little town on the Mississippi not too far from MSP. The St. James Hotel
was the highest rated hotel in the state as recently as 5 years ago, but I haven't visited RW in awhile.
Stillwater MN is also a nice side trip from MSP, on the Mississippi straight east.
But for shorescapes and water scenery, the drive north of Duluth is the best in the state by far.
Old May 7th, 2003, 08:23 PM