Maui - Haleakala Lunch Plans

Apr 7th, 2006, 07:58 PM
Original Poster

Maui - Haleakala Lunch Plans

Just changed our travel plans from Oahu to Maui. Trip is in June. Now scrambling to get our activities planned on Maui. Think we are doing horseback ride on Haleakala Ranch (the shorter ride, have done the longer ride into crater previously). I know that I've read about a restaurant a lot of people stop to visit after sunrise. We're thinking we'll be done at lunch time and was wondering if anyone had suggestions for restaurant for lunch. I've been focusing my research on Oahu for past six months, and appreciate any help you can give me.
Apr 8th, 2006, 04:22 AM

Kula Lodge? We stopped there for lunch on the way down from Haleakala and liked it a lot. Great views, too, if it is a clear day. You might think about making reservations - it filled up very fast.
Apr 8th, 2006, 04:41 AM

We stopped at the Kula Lodge on the way up and liked it a lot as well.
Apr 8th, 2006, 05:04 AM
Original Poster

Thanks. I wasn't sure of the name. Can anyone tell me if Mama's Fish House is in the vicinity. Sorry for my lack of logistical expertise, but can anyone tell me if its logical to try to go to Mama's Fish House after Haleakala???
Apr 8th, 2006, 07:30 AM
trippinkpj

Mama's Fish House I think (not sure), is another 40 minutes past Kula Lodge to the coast. I personnally would choose Kula Lodge over Mama's. Great setting, but overpriced for what you get. Next time, I may just go to Mama's for a drink.

Apr 8th, 2006, 08:25 AM

Highly recommend Mama's for a drink...we did just that before heading off to dinner elsewhere. We each had 2 drinks and shared a Coconut Ono appetizer -- absolutely fabulous. The appetizer was expensive (about $20), but huge and perfect for 2 to share. We were also surprised when they brought out the complimentary soup tastings (little cups) and loaf of fresh baked bread...suddenly the $20 appetizer seemed more reasonable!
Apr 8th, 2006, 09:07 AM

Hi