Maine coast, Vermont mountains, New York Adirondak

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 23rd, 2007, 04:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a graduate student in northern Delaware, and would like to spend three or four days in one of the above places during the spring break (last week of March). I would like to be in a quiet place, where I can get plenty of nature without seeing too many tourists. Being a student, I cannot afford expensive hotels/resorts. I would really appreciate some suggestions about where I could go. Thanks.
Old Feb 23rd, 2007, 05:05 AM

march up that way will still have very questionable weather issues. march snow storms happen all the time. so it depends on what you mean by "plenty of nature" are you a hiker? or are you interested in just hanging... you may want to think about cross country skiing.

if so, you may want to consider new hampshire as well i have to say that new hampshire is my favorite for scenery and hiking - but likely hiking won't be easy in the white mountains...

there are lots of small motels, you may need to call, they might not even have web sites. but search for lodging in these areas. go to chamber of commerce sites where these smaller places will be listed and you can get phone numbers.

i would usually recommend vrbo.com for lodging but those renters usually want weekly renters but it doesn't hurt to look. you can also look at greatrentals.com and cyberrentals.com

to look for town names in adirondacks start on mapquest with lake george

for vermont, southern- brattleboro, northern, woodstock

for maine you might actually get something descent on mount desert island or lamshure...but boy if a n'oreaster comes in (which can easily happen in march) i wouldn't want to be there!

for new hampshire franconia notch, littleton, goshen.