Living in Nashville?

Search

Living in Nashville?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 19th, 2003, 12:16 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Living in Nashville?

I know this isn't a relocation forum, but it seems to be a great source for relocation information. So,...

I am hoping to hear from some people who live/have lived in Nashville. I am a young professional from the south, but currently living in the DC area. What are your thoughts on living in Nashville? I like to live in town, and appreciate convenient restaurants and shopping. What are the best areas in Nashville for people my age? Any comparisons to DC or Atlanta (where I have also lived) would be helpful.
Old Aug 19th, 2003, 12:26 PM

I also live in DC, but have family in Nashville. After spending a lot of time visiting the area, I would recommend the west-end. The area near Vanderbilt seems pretty young, and trendy. Avoid downtown, unless you like very white people with Elvis shirts on.
Old Aug 19th, 2003, 01:16 PM

Definitely live in the Hillsboro Village area (21st Avenue near West End Ave & Vanderbilt University).

www.hillsborovillage.org

It's close to downtown as well as the suburbs of Green Hills & Belle Meade (and the fantastic Percy Warner Park).

Good Luck!

Old Aug 19th, 2003, 01:56 PM
Original Poster

How does the city compare to Atlanta? Does it seem small, with not a lot going on? Is it more of a family place, or are there a lot of young people?
Old Aug 19th, 2003, 02:03 PM

Well it's definitely smaller, but I prefer it over Atlanta (although I've never lived in Atlanta, just visited many many times). Nashville has alot of young professionals, and Vanderbilt has world-class professional schools (law, business, medical), which is why I suggest living in that area. The bars & restaurants in the area surrounding Vandy's campus (which includes Hillsboro Village) are great, and downtown has alot to offer as well.
Old Aug 19th, 2003, 02:10 PM