Knowledge about NYC

Old Jun 9th, 2017, 05:18 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Knowledge about NYC

Hi there guys! I'm a writer and my current book is set in NYC. The last time I was in NY was in 2014 so I dont remember much of the details.

My questions are

What parts of the city would somebody like visiting who has lived there their entire life,i.e. not touristy places?

Where do kids from low income families go for good education? Which borough etc.

Which train line would they catch if they're coming from a outer borough to the city to catch school in the morning?

I have many other questions, if somebody could answer. Much appreciated!
Old Jun 9th, 2017, 06:39 PM

Wouldn't they go to school in whatever district they live in? Unless you mean charter or private?

Just curious. I think you might get more information over on city data. Or, novel idea, actually visit NYC and refresh your memory.
Old Jun 9th, 2017, 07:37 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Are you going to share the royalties with us?
Old Jun 9th, 2017, 08:02 PM

As a writer who is a native NY'er, I can spot work that is not authentic. It is not only the locations, but how those locations are described. Then there is the language, what they eat, knowledge of things NY, how they comport themselves under certain circumstances, how and where they shop, where they work and NY problems. And the unwritten rules of the NY.

Here is but one example of what you need to know, for the most part Muslim Indians live in Brooklyn but Hindus and Sikhs live in Queens. There are more languages spoken in Queens than any where else in the world.

When I watch TV or a movie and they show a street that has is not a through street, I can tell in 1/2 second whether it is a set or shot on location by the stores and street lights. And so can probably 85% of NY'ers.

There are a number of exceptional schools in NYC. There has also been an effort to have exceptional schools in the boroughs as well.