Keystone vs. Steamboat Springs for snowboarding

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 28th, 2004, 04:14 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Amy comments re: altitude sickness? What do you do here if you're not on the slopes?
Do you need a rental car?
Old Nov 28th, 2004, 04:15 AM
Original Poster

sorry wrong forum. I'm new to this.
Old Nov 28th, 2004, 04:16 AM
Original Poster

sorry wrong forum
Old Nov 28th, 2004, 04:31 AM
Original Poster

Is there more for a non-slopes person to do at Keystone vs. Steamboat? Or Breckenridge? Are all snowboarder friendly? Also, are you more likely to suffer with altitude sickness if you have asthma? Any suggestions for a condo for 6 with indoor pool or other shared activity rooms the teens would enjoy or is there plenty to do in the town/village? Thanks so much for your help and your patience with first time traveler and forum participant.
Old Nov 28th, 2004, 06:34 AM

We've spent time in Frisco twice during the summer. So I know there's plenty of non-slope activity in Summit County. Lots of restaurants, shops, etc. Both times we stayed in a condo we rented through Americana Properties. So, if you decide on that area, you might want to try them. My brothers have told me they don't think Americana handles as many rentals as they used to. However, it's a place to start.
Old Nov 28th, 2004, 06:56 AM

We've only been to Keystone a few times, but have always found icy conditions.

You'll be less likely to have altitude problems at Steamboat, as the base is over 2000 feet lower than Summitt County.
Old Nov 28th, 2004, 10:39 AM

Keystone is great. There is a free bus system that takes you from condo or hotel to the slopes or around town, so no need for a rental car, although transportation from the airport is pricy. My family skis, but I don't. I found plenty of other things to do. Sledding, tubing, skating. It's a fun place! Enjoy!!
Old Nov 29th, 2004, 08:34 AM
MaureenB