Search

JFK to Albany New York

Search this Thread

Old Dec 13th, 2015, 06:56 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
JFK to Albany New York

Hello,

I would be arriving in New York (JFK) and need to travel to Albany New York.
With this, am considering the AMTRAK (train) route instead of driving.

This is my first time in NYC and moving from one place to another will be a challenge.

I read from JFK that going to PEN Station then to Albany is best to go but the details of which train
( i see AirTran, Subway etc) and i get confuse. Can someone suggest step by step /which train etc)

I will be traveling with one hand carry and a 1 piece luggage.

Thanks so much in advance.

solotraveler.
Old Dec 13th, 2015, 07:36 PM

Welcome to the forums. You have mistakenly marked this a trip report, which is a report you write AFTER your trip.

It is understandable that you are confused about the subway versus other trains, because there is more than one train you can take to make this connection.

The AirTrain is a train that circles the JFK Airport terminals and connect to parking areas and two different train stations where one can connect to other modes of transport to travel further. In your case, you should travel to Jamiaca Station, where one could take the Long Island Railrod (LIRR) or subway (E train). Since you are headed to Amtrak, I think the LIRR will be easier and quicker for you (and cost only a few dollars more).

From JFK take the AirTrain to Jamaica Train Station. At Jamaica Station, you will pay as you leave the AirTrain. Follow the signs out and to the left and you will be on an open-air upper level bridge that crosses over all the LIRR tracks. On this level you should purchase a ticket to Penn Station from one of the machines.