Reload this Page >

Jackson, WY - please compare Rusty Parrot with Amangani

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 1st, 2007, 11:44 AM
ExpertTripPlanner

In a year-long celebration of a milestone birthday, I am travelling to a number of places that have been on my list for a very long time. So, my companion and I will be making a trip from southern Montana through Yellowstone and Grand Tetons into Jackson in the first two weeks of September. Cost is not an issue - I want us to have experiences to remember and treasure for years to come.

We are people who like stunning scenery and the outdoors. We are both very interested and involved in the arts. I work intensively with people for a living and need a lot of contemplative/quiet time when I'm on vacation; my companion is a fine art photographer who is always looking for a good photo op. We have hiked all over the Southwest, Europe, South America. We appreciate good food, but we sometimes tire of the "haute cuisine" foisted upon us by wannabe "fancy" restaurants. Been there, done that.

I don't think we're too fussy,we do not like glitz and glamour, and have no need to impress anyone. In fact, except for our travel experiences, we prefer to live below our means. When it comes to travel, we'll do whatever it takes to have a quality experience ... and we know that does not always require breaking the bank: One of the most unforgettable meals I ever had was a crispy and intensely-flavored clam roll from a little shack by the side of the road in Cape Cod. Likewise, a favorite memory involves a week-long stay at a ramshackle youth hostel in Pilar, NM (close to Taos). I DO have a problem, however, feeling like an idiot if I pay big bucks for something and its value does not match the price.