Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

In Maui from 1pm to 10pm...what should we do?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 30th, 2003, 06:10 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello! I'm new to the message boards and SO glad I found them. There's so much great info out on them. Anyway, my fiance and I will be spending our honeymoon in Hawaii...we're spending one night in Honolulu, cruising with NCL's Star for 7 days and then spending 7 nights in Kauai. I'm trying to plan in advance what we'll do in all of the ports for our cruise, as I know that the cruise lines mark up their prices on the shore excursions. We're only going to be in Maui for 9 hours...in the evening. What would all of you Maui experts recommend that we do? Where is the best place to see the sunset? I've read the threads on The Road to Hana and it doesn't seem that we'd have enough time to do that effectively. Thanks in advance for all of your help!!!
Old Apr 30th, 2003, 07:14 AM

After spening a few days aboard ship, you might want to consider driving up Mount Haleakala to see the island from the top of this ancient volcano. It would be an expensive side trip with the cost of a rental car and the National Park admission fee, but it would certainly give you a view from on top of the world. You'll be able to stay long enough to watch the sunset if you're honeymooning during the winter months when the sun goes down before 7:00 p.m. Otherwise, you'll be too tight on time. Be aware that the mountain creates its own weather and that cloud cover could spoil your sunset. You'll be driving on mountain roads with lots of switchback turns as well as the breathtaking views, so keep an eye on the time as well as weather conditions so you don't miss the boat!

Old Apr 30th, 2003, 09:47 AM

I've tried to post this a bunch of times but I'll try again. Boy I hope the other ones don't show up eventually. That's be bad.