Horrible hotel

Aug 9th, 2009, 09:38 AM
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 130
Horrible hotel

We just returned from a quick 4 days in the Santa Fe area and since we travelled ratherly unexpectedly, there were few choices for lodging. We booked 3 nights at Sunrise Springs Resort about 10 miles from the Plaza as it looked reasonably nice on the internet, no negative reports, and we had a car. It was BAD. It's a resort that's struggling to stay in business, even as reported by their own staff. Outside has great potential, but not being maintained at all. Weeds growing up in the patios, balconies badly in need of a paint job, didn't clean the balcony prior to our arrival. Also their "included breakfast" was a plastic bag hung on your door in the morning (in the sun) sometimes with warm yogurt, but usually a horrible looking sweet roll in a cellaphane package (coffee pot in the room) and fruit that looks like it'll be used for the next guest if you don't eat it. There is a restaurant there, but they say it's only used for weddings/retreats (which I can't imagine anyone booking there for the amount of work it would take to record pictures). Our toilet backed up twice. The shower has dark green tiles with black mold all over the grout. Ugh,ugh,ugh. Charged $99/night plus a $4.50 "resort fee." Not sure what that was for. But if it's this place or the Motel 6, which were our options, I'd stay at the Motel 6 in a heartbeat.

BTW, I emailed the resort with a detailed report, but they chose not to respond. Guess they already know these things but choose to fool the public.
anavert is offline  
Aug 9th, 2009, 09:54 AM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 227
If you feel that strongly, I would suggest you put your review on www.tripadvisor.com

That's normally the first place I would look for hotel reviews and I suspect many people are the same so in posting your report there, more people will be aware of your experience there.
quiUK is offline  
Aug 9th, 2009, 11:28 AM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45,322
What a horrible experience, quiUK. I have been in places like that but thankfully for just overnight..we would leave by 5:00am without even using the shower. And yes, do post on tripadvisor. Your comments justify your negative feelings versus someway complaining about the desk clerk not being friendly for example.
LoveItaly is offline  
Aug 9th, 2009, 12:22 PM
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,776
That sounds awful - especially the breakfast baggie - gross.

It's possible that the resort will respond eventually once they get reports from all the departments about your complaints.

If you don't hear from them in a few more days you should be on the phone with the manager. Do you want back part of what you paid, or one night?
sheri_lp is offline  
Aug 9th, 2009, 01:52 PM
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 27,868
Sorry you had such a bad experience. The trip advisor reviews are really a mixed bag, lots of negatives, a few positive. I have never heard of the place. I looked at the website, seems to be a bit on the "touchy -feely" side and a bit of the "out there" mentality that can be found in certain areas of Santa Fe.

Sorry that you didn't ask about it on here. Did any of my photo suggestions work for you?

Deb
DebitNM is offline  
Aug 9th, 2009, 08:18 PM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,840
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience in Santa Fe. I wish you would have come here to ask for recommendation- as we could have given you many. (if you did ask and I missed it I'm sorry.) I travel to Santa Fe a lot and know of many places that would have been very enjoyable and wouldn't have left you hot yogurt on the door! Yuck!

As Deb said, trip advisor is hit and miss. Sorry you had such a crummy experience in my home-away-from-home.

Anything good from your trip? Where did you eat?
BeachGirl247 is offline  
Aug 11th, 2009, 03:16 PM
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 130
I sent a copy of my "complaint" that I posted here to the hotel and heard from someone who said she was sorry I was unhappy with the STAFF there and forwarded it to the Manager. Never heard another word. Their staff wasn't even mentioned in my report. Hmmm. Hope they cleaned up the mold, at least. Apparently, Santa Fe had its first major convention in its new convention center, so there were few choices of rooms that weren't terribly expensive. I've been there many times and never had a situation arise like this. Thx for the suggestion to post on trip advisor. Otherwise, good food, museums, etc. as usual in a great city!
anavert is offline  
Aug 11th, 2009, 04:10 PM
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,966
Yes, please warn others on tripadvisor.com
happytrailstoyou is offline  
Aug 11th, 2009, 07:21 PM
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,776
As I mentioned before - if you're looking for some kind of refund back from the hotel - you have to talk to them directly. Just posting complaints online will not really motivate them to work with you.
sheri_lp is offline  
Aug 12th, 2009, 05:57 AM
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,047
The very first reviews on tripadvisor are so clear-cut that I would never have booked that hotel. You may add your critique - it would be wonderful if you could upload a few photos too.
traveller1959 is offline  
Aug 12th, 2009, 10:49 AM
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,966
I find it is worthwhile to complain about a bad hotel experience when the hotel intends guests to have good experiences, but not when guests' satisfaction is a low priority.

Trying to get and kind of satisfaction from this place will only remind you how unconcerned they are with you and your goodwill.
happytrailstoyou is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy -

FODOR'S VIDEO

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:03 AM.