Grand Canyon Question

Old May 21st, 2005, 05:26 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Grand Canyon Question

This may seem utterly idiotic, and I apologize in advance, but is there a way to see the North and South rims of the canyon on the same trip?

How is this done? I am sure there isn't a crossing, and isn't "driving around" a really far trip?

I am just beginning my research, and want to maximize our trip, and I am confused about distances. We will probably start in Phoenix.

Thanks, Debbie
Old May 21st, 2005, 07:14 PM

I am guessing you are from the east coast or some other congested area of the US. When we visited UT and AZ 2 summers ago, the distances from place to place were really amazing. (We are from Boston area). Another source of your confusion might be that some mapping programs get a little perplexed if you enter "Grand Canyon" as your destination.

That said, yes, you must "drive around". Having only seen the South Rim, I am not one to give advice about which is "better" - but from Phoenix the logical view is from the South Rim.
Old May 21st, 2005, 07:21 PM

Those that have been to both rims, have told me they would not do both again in the same trip.

I'd go to the South Rim and then head to another and different destination.

I guess you could try the Thelma and Louise jump...
Old May 21st, 2005, 07:25 PM
Original Poster

Thanks Gail

You have it correct: I am from the East Coast. I live and have always lived in city-center Pittsburgh. The rest of my family lives in Manhattan. I work in Florence, Italy. I am just not used to wide open spaces!

I'm not too concerned about which is "best" but I would like to see a good deal on this trip. However, driving for hours and hours isn't really my favorite thing to do. I guess it is the South Rim for us. We will probably fly into Phoenix and then travel to Sedona and the GC.