Getting from UWS to Staten Island Ferry

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 28th, 2007, 06:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a free day in the city tomorrow, and although this is my 4th time to NYC I've never seen the Statue of Liberty! However, I am a poor college student so I heard the best way to see it is from the (free!) Staten Island Ferry. What's the best way to get there using subways from 86th and Broadway in the UWS? I tried hopstop.com but it kept telling me I didn't have a valid address.

How often to ferries leave?

Also, is it reasonable to look around the financial district while I'm on that part of the island? Or what are some other things I can see down there?

Thanks for all your help!
Old Jun 28th, 2007, 07:16 AM

Use Battery PArk as your destination. That should work.
Debi
Old Jun 28th, 2007, 07:31 AM

You're right near the train that takes you directly down there. Take the 1 train, at the corner of 86th & B'Way all the way downtown to its last stop at South Ferry. Pay attention to the announcements, as you have to be in the first 6 cars (I think) in order to get off at the stop.

Note - this is the local train, so it will take a while to get down. If you want to save a little bit of time, you can switch to the 2/3 across the platform at 72nd St and switch back to the 1 at Chambers St.
Old Jun 28th, 2007, 07:37 AM

Actually, if you use staten island ferry as your destination, you get the right directions (take the #1 train to the last stop-South Ferry). What's weird and wrong is the map and the walking directions from the subway exit to the ferry terminal. You might try the actual address which is 1 Whitehall st. and see what that does.

There's a ferry schedule online. http://www.nyc.gov/html/dot/html/mas...fery.html#info

You absolutely can see the financial district and Battery Park while you're down there. This might be a good website for you to check out.
http://www.downtownny.com/