First Time Hikers - ONP

Old Jun 16th, 2008, 06:05 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First Time Hikers - ONP

I'm re-posting this specifically in the WA forum....

My hubby and I are planning a trip to ONP in September. We have never done day-long hikes and am wondering what advice fellow Fodorites have. Also, besides convenience stores, are there any grocery stores in and around the area where we could stock up on stuff for lunches and snacks? I'm a hiking newbie, so any advice - even small - would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Old Jun 16th, 2008, 07:54 AM

Def break in your boots beforehand as suggested in the other thread. What kind of footwear are you planning on bringing?

You want to be sure to carry water--I use a Camelback that also has room for some food and at least some of the ten hiking essentials (do a google search if you don't know what those are).

ONP is pretty big and spread out--there are grocery stores in the bigger towns.
Old Jun 16th, 2008, 08:02 AM
mms

Do you have boots yet? If not go to a store such as REI (not just any sporting goods store) and get fitted. For myself, I swear by Lowa's.

As NWW said, Camelbak's are great and the 10 essentials are, well essential

Trekking poles are a lifesaver for your knees. Again, REI is a good place for those.

Not to scare you, but vehicle breakins at trailheads are annoying, so we always take our vehicle registration in our packs with us and leave nothing, absolutely nothing in the vehicle. This is not specific to ONP, just hiking in general.

Old Jun 16th, 2008, 08:11 AM
Original Poster

NWW - Thanks for the tip on the 10 essentials - I googled it. Great information!

Regarding footwear...I had read that we'll need several pairs of shoes. I'm counting at least 3: slip ons for the flight over, hiking shoes/boots, and a pair I don't mind getting wet or ruined for the beach walks. Am I missing anything?