Search

First road trip ever, need pointers on where to start,,,,,

Search this Thread

Old Mar 19th, 2013, 10:35 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First road trip ever, need pointers on where to start,,,,,

Hi

Just decided this morning that I want to see some of the LA coast, San Fransisco and probably end in Vegas for 3 nights and thought "road trip"......

Got 2 weeks off from 26th Feb 2014, is the weather going to be ok as in warm (hopefully enough to wear t-shirt), not rain all the time.
Not booked or looked at anything as honestly don't know where to start!!!
Fly into where????? LA or San Fran..., which direction do I head?, what maps should I be looking at???
How long are the driving between stops and where can I stop for overnight breaks, think the coastal path would be nice, dependant on time difference......

I know I'm asking a lot, but I honestly have no idea where to start, so hoping that you can take a complete novice and turn me into someone who can do this (a 48 year old lady doing a road trip with my friend, who is also a complete novice).

Many thanks in advance, I really appreciate any help you can give

Regards

Helen
Old Mar 19th, 2013, 11:02 AM

I'd really just start with Google Maps. You can get directions and times between cities, or build a whole itinerary (LA to Vegas via SF or whatever you like).

maps.google.com
Old Mar 19th, 2013, 11:54 AM

> 26th Feb 2014, is the weather going to be ok as in warm
> (hopefully enough to wear t-shirt), not rain all the time.

In the San Francisco Bay Area, it most likely will be wet, too cold for T-shirts, and dreary. It COULD be warm and pleasant, but don't count on it.

> Fly into where????? LA or San Fran..., which direction do I head?

Fly into the city which has the best combination (price-wise) of air fare and car rental. Pick up the car and do a circle from City A to City B to City C and back to City A, returning the car to City A.