Domestic travel in August..

Old Mar 22nd, 2020, 10:40 PM
Original Poster

Domestic travel in August..

Hi. I had a trip to Ft. Lauderdale and Miami planned for this week that I had to cancel because of COVID-19, of course. Southwest gave me a credit to rebook. I've been considering trying to go August 9th-18th, or something like that. I would consider waiting even longer but i'm a college student and I get really busy once fall comes, so August would be really ideal. Some people are saying things will still be a complete mess in August and others are saying things will have calmed down at least to the point where its safe to travel. I know that no one can predict anything for sure but i'm just curious what everyone's opinion is. I know its way too early to book anything yet so im holding off. I've been looking at hotels and airbnbs just to see whats available for August and theres some really good deals that I hope last so I don't miss out if things did work out.
Old Mar 23rd, 2020, 05:05 AM
J62

I agree that nobody can predict what August will look like, and many of us would like to have something positive like a trip to look forward too. It's not a bad plan for keeping some kind of sanity in these hard times.

Personally I don't think deals will suddenly evaporate, but I myself would wait to better understand what my own situation (or that of my family) was, both health and financial. Many people will lose their jobs as companies cut payrolls to just stay alive. If there is someone in your life who may have a dire need to have $$ in August, then be cautious about depleting family emergency money. Only you and your family can judge that.