Colter Bay Village - GTNP question

Jun 29th, 2015, 04:46 AM
Original Poster

Colter Bay Village - GTNP question

Have you stayed there?

If so, did you use it as a "base" to travel out from?
Did you spend a lot of time there, on the water, etc.?

I'm doing one of my favorite things - trying to find in-park lodging for Yellowstone and Grand Teton and putting together a patchwork of lodging for our days. The next step is to layer on the activities.

The more I look at Colter Bay, it looks like a place to stay put and "rest" for a day. The location looks gorgeous and I may not want to leave.
Jun 29th, 2015, 10:02 AM

We stay at the Colter Bay campground as a base to see the Grand Tetons and Jackson, WY. Sorry but I have no experience with the lodge there. Colter Bay is to far for my liking to use it as a base for Yellowstone. If you can't get lodging in Yellowstone, I'd look at West Yellowstone. I'd also keep trying to get in on a cancellation in the park.

Utahtea
Jun 29th, 2015, 05:37 PM
Original Poster

We have reservations in Yellowstone. We have reservations in Jackson. There was one stray night in between and I booked Colter Bay. The more I looked at it and read reviews, the more I wondered about activities there and hanging around for a day. That would be about a week into the trip and I usually like to "slow down" and not exactly rest, but not be on the move. I picked Colter Bay because it was the only in-park lodging available for that day in GTNP (as of last night).

I may not be explaining this well...
"The more I look at Colter Bay, it looks like a place to stay put and "rest" for a day."
"Did you spend a lot of time there, on the water, etc.?"
Jun 29th, 2015, 05:57 PM