Search

CO Early November

Search this Thread

Old Aug 24th, 2023, 11:36 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CO Early November

A friend's daughter is getting married in Littleton, CO on Nov. 11 and my husband and I plan to stay for 4-5 days into the next week to spend some time with the bride's parents after the wedding. The couple lives in Boulder and our friends have been there often and explored Rocky Mtn National Park, too. Outside of a drive across I-70 I have little experience in the state. We'd like to have one base from which we can do day trips. We like easy hikes & wildlife, western history, some museums and cultural centers, etc. I know we could just explore Denver and probably be kept busy, but we're really interested in more outdoor things and a smaller city. I think we would prefer to avoid the ski towns on this trip given the time of year-not quite winter but obviously a chance of snow in high elevations. Do people have any suggestions? Fort Collins maybe? Seems like Taos is too far. (Yes, I know its a ski city but my sense is that there is more there. Loved Santa Fe.)

Thanks for your thoughts and suggestions?
Old Aug 25th, 2023, 06:45 AM

Received 17 Likes on 4 Posts
Yes, Taos is too far. If you want a small city with great hiking check out Glenwood Springs CO. There is a great paved hiking/biking trail east of town along the Colorado River into the Glenwood Canyon. There is a good bus service up to Aspen (41 miles). Also in town is the world's largest hot spring fed swimming pool near the two big old hotels. There are plenty of more modern motel/hotel rooms as well. There is a cable gondola ride up to the Glenwood Cavern.