Chicago pizza

Old May 20th, 2006, 06:04 AM
Original Poster

Chicago pizza

Visiting Chicago next week for the first time in 10 years. Last time I was there, I had my first, and only, taste of Chicago style deep dish pizza. Someone took me to a place with graffiti all over the walls but I can't remember the name of it. I'd like to go back this trip or find another place to eat great pizza. I'm staying at the Hyatt on E. Wacker without a car. Also looking for a good place to have a drink and hear some blues.
Thanks for your help,
Pam
Old May 20th, 2006, 06:18 AM
JJ5

Pam, I hate to not answer myself, but I have no fraction of the knowledge about your hotel and surrounds or re the blues clubs in comparison to what's already on this board. Do a search for Chicago blues club and you will see what I mean.

I have stayed at the Hyatt E. Wacker and there are literally 60-100 restaurants within short walking distance. There is also an underground walk/connection to several other hotels and lots of "joints" are down there.

You may want to take a walk thru this to the Swissotel and go to the floor with the work out / gym/ swim facilities or just look out anywhere over there. That view encompasses the entire curve of Lake Michigan all the way South to Hyde Park if you can get a vantage point in the Swissotel. Do this especially if you aren't going out onto the lake through the locks during a boat tour.

The pizza was probably Gino's East because they used to have writing all over the walls. But Lou Malnati's, Uno's or Due's (Original only) or Giordano's all have their followings. You can see more decription if you do a search on that as well.

You are a short walk over to Millenium Park, don't forget to walk through. It's all open now and the water features are all running. It cost so much money, so someone should enjoy it.

Others can help you greatly with the drink and blues- but if they don't, do try the search.