Notices

Big Island Snorkel questions

Old Aug 15th, 2005, 08:31 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Big Island Snorkel questions

We're going to be on the Big Island in Sept. I would love to do the snorkel trip to Capt. Cook's monument, but am prone to seasickness. If anyone has done the Fairwinds or Sea Quest trips there, please let me know if the water was calm or did people get seasick. I know morning time is better since it's calmer then, but was just wondering if it's that rough to be concerned about. Thanks!!
Old Aug 15th, 2005, 08:42 AM

I'm a physician also prone to seasicknees on snorkel and dive boats. I have found the answer for me - it is a prescription tablet called Scopace - saved my diving. It is the same drug as in the Transderm Scop patch but it is much more useful for these kinds of short day trips - the patch lasts 3 days so you waste most of it if you are just out on a day trip but the Scopace tablet lasts 6-8 hours which is ideal. It is quite a bit less expensive than the patch too. It does require a prescription - I take 1 tablet (0.4mg) about an hour before getting on the boat then you can take 1 more if it is particularly rough. The main side effect is some dry mouth but take a water bottle along and you'll be fine. Much more effective than over the counter meds. You can read more about it at www.motionsickness.net
Old Aug 15th, 2005, 01:30 PM

We have done the Fair Wind trip once and the Sea Quest Raft Adventure twice. I am prone to seasickness and did not have any problems and did not see anyone else get seasick. Someone suggested taking ginger tablets for the Fair Wind trip, but since the ride was so smooth can't comment on effectiveness.

On the otherhand, a number of folks were amp;seasick with the very wavy conditions on our NaPali coast tour/whalewatch on Kaua`i, and we took dramamine which saved us.
Old Aug 15th, 2005, 01:50 PM