Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Best affordable restaurants in Boston's North End?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 6th, 2011, 04:16 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am new to the Boston area and have family coming to visit this week. We are planning on taking the trolley tour of Boston and would like to end with a good Italian dinner in Boston's North End. I did a search on here of North End restaurants and although several are listed, most of the postings are pretty old.

So, I'm hoping for some recommendations for restaurants over there that are a little more recent. We are looking for something tasty but also affordable ($20 or less per plate). So many of the restaurants listed on Yelp seem to be over $20 a plate. Pizza would be fine, too. Thanks!
Old Sep 6th, 2011, 04:31 AM

The North End can be pricy at dinnertime -- many of the best places tend to be expensive, and some of the cheaper places definitely aren't worth going to. Your best bets for reasonably priced dinnertime food in the North End would likely be Pizzeria Regina (the original on Thacher Street), Pagliuca's or Rabia's (Southern Italian), Daily Catch (Southern Italian seafood), or Antico Forno (Southern Italian baked items as well as a decent pizza). Saraceno's is also very good if you stick to red-sauce basics.
Old Sep 6th, 2011, 07:06 AM

I haven't been in awhile, but twice I've taken my parents and they enjoyed.

http://lasumma.com/dinner.html
Old Sep 6th, 2011, 08:28 AM
Original Poster

Thank you both for the recommendations! I appreciate it.
Old Sep 6th, 2011, 08:52 AM

I second Pizzeria Regina on Thatcher.
Old Sep 6th, 2011, 10:06 AM

We enjoyed Antico Forno 2 years ago when visiting Boston w/friends. It was recommended by the hotel concierge. We found it to be good, decent fare at reasonable prices with large portions. Certainly nothing fancy.